Literatur- und Kulturpreise 1859-1949: eine Dokumentation [Literary and Cultural Prizes, 1859-1949]. Eva Dambacher. Foreword by Reinhard Tgahrt. Marbach am Neckar: Deutsche Schillergesellschaft, 1996. 292 p. ill. 22 cm. (Verzeichnisse, Berichte, Informationen/Deutsches Literaturarchiv, 19). ISBN 3-929146-43-6: DM 50.00

This well-documented reference work lists 262 literary, fine arts, and humanities prizes awarded by German-speaking countries, beginning with the Schiller prize in 1859 and concluding with the prize of the "Gruppe 47" in 1949. Each entry includes the name as well as variant names of the prize, donor, jury, planned frequency of the award, requirements, form of award, recipients, and bibliographical notes on the prize and on the recipients. The sources used include Börsenblatt für den deutschen Buchhandel (which is the German equivalent of Publishers Weekly or Bookseller), Deutscher Literaturkalender, and literary periodicals. This reference work could have been improved by an index listing all variant names of prizes and the names of donor organizations. This title provides a good foundation for further research in this area. [sh/ba]

Next Section
Previous Section
Table of Contents

Comments, suggestions, or questions
Last update: July 31, 2000 [RD]
© 2005 Casalini libri - VAT no. IT03106600483