AA -- Information Sources


Manual de bibliografía [Handbook of Bibliography]. José Roberto Arze. 1st ed. Cochabamba: Fundación Universitaria "Simón I. Patiño", 1992. xiii, 616 p. 20 cm. ISBN 84-8370-197-9 (Los Amigos del Libro Editorial): Price not reported. (Los Amigos del Libro, Editorial, Casilla 450, Cochabamba, Bolivia)

The author of this work instructs students of Library Science at the Universidad Mayor de San Andres in La Paz, and it is an introduction to the theory and methodology of bibliography in the sense of a "bibliographic reference work" in the tradition of Sheehy and Totok/Weitzel. For the sections on South American information resources alone, and on Bolivia in particular, this is a valuable resource for researchers with interest in this geographic area. [sh/sd]


Ouvrages de référence pour les bibliothèques: répertoire bibliographique [Reference Works for Libraries: A Bibliographic Selection]. Ed. Marcelle Beaudiquez and Annie Béthery. 4th ed. Paris: Editions du Cercle de la Librairie, 1995. 478 p. 24 cm. (Collection bibliothèques) ISBN 2-7654-0591-3: FF 270.00

The 4th edition of this reference work, in contrast to the first three which focused on reference works for public libraries, extends its scope to provide reference tools for all types of libraries that provide information service. The essential character of the book remains the same, despite the increase of collaborators and the number of works cited (up from 970 to 1,304 in the present edition). Its focus is on French works that are in print and available. It notes online or CD-ROM versions, as well, although in the case of the List of French Dissertations (p. 66), which is not available in digital form, there is nary a mention of the paper version-because it is no longer available. Only very few foreign language works (primarily in English except for general encyclopedias) are mentioned and thus it is doubtful that this book would be of great use for beginning students and other users at university libraries. Its best use in academic libraries outside of France is for French collection development purposes, to locate reference tools still in print and perhaps to identify others that somehow had been overlooked before. [sh/sd]


Manuel de bibliographie générale [Handbook of General Bibliography]. Marie-Hélène Prévoteau and Jean-Claude Utard. New ed. Paris: Editions du Cercle de la Librairie, 1996. 364 p. 24 cm. (Collection bibliothèques) ISBN 2-7654-0633-2: FF 270.00

This new edition of a French library school text appears just one year after publication of the first edition, and it is still a work in progress. The authors both teach library science in France, and the book is basically a collection of teaching scripts and lectures. The new edition is 50 pages longer; the section on databases was expanded from 3 pages to12 and contains sample Internet searches (that could easily have been included in the 1995 edition). It is clear that this is less a well-rounded and well-thought-out work than a text meant for instruction. Apart from its references to Walford, Sheehy, and LISA, the work contains only French-language resources. [sh/sd]


The Reference Sources Handbook. Ed. Peter W. Lea and Alan Day. 4th ed. London: Library Association Publishing, 1996. xviii, 446 p. 24 cm. Former title: Printed Reference Material and Related Sources of Information. ISBN 1-85604-177-8 (pbk.): £42.50

This new edition of the English-language standard for library information and research materials departs from its former print-oriented focus (the 3rd ed. in 1990 was titled Printed reference material and related sources of information) and now includes non-print information resources. As with earlier editions, some of the chapters have been renamed or combined-though in seemingly random order. This edition contains 16 chapters, down from 20 in the 3rd edition. Ten are written by the same authors, and six by new ones. The single completely new chapter is "Reference Publishing" by Bob Duckett which discusses digital resources on an equal footing with the traditional print media, and which contains a section on "publishers' promotion" which is especially recommended. As with earlier editions, authors have been given virtual free reign over the content of their chapters, and this reviewer laments the lack of a comparable reference work focusing on German resources. [sh/sd]


Guida alla bibliografia internazionale [Guide to International Bibliography]. Andrea Martinucci. Milano: Editrice Bibliografica, 1994. 288 p. 24 cm. (Bibliografia e biblioteconomia: Fuori collana) ISBN 88-7075-380-8: Lit. 60,000


Guida alle ricerche bibliografiche: dalla biblioteca alle banche dati, alle reti telematiche [Guide to Bibliographic Research: From the Library to Database and Telematic Networks]. Elena Giacanelli Boriosi and Diana Ascari. 1st ed. Bologna: Zanichelli, 1995. x, 254 p. 16 cm. ISBN 88-08-09120-1: Lit. 20,000


Corso di bibliografia: guida alla compilazione e all'uso dei repertori bibliografici [Bibliography Course: Guide to the Compilation and Use of Bibliographies]. Rino Pensato. 3d ed. Milano: Editrice Bibliografica, 1995. 227 p. 21 cm. (Bibliografia e biblioteconomia, 28). ISBN 88-7075-422-7: Lit. 30,000


Informare in biblioteca [Giving Information in the Library]. Aurelio Aghemo. Milano: Editrice Bibliografica, 1992. 163 p. 21 cm. (Bibliografia e biblioteconomia, 43). ISBN 88-7075-308-5: Lit. 25,000


Il reference in biblioteca: guida ai servizi d'informazione [Reference in the Library: Guide to Information Services]. Carla Leonardi. Milano: Editrice Bibliografica, 1995. 202 p. 21 cm. (Bibliografia e biblioteconomia ; 49) ISBN 88-7075-432-4: Lit. 30,000


Pubblicazioni ufficiali italiane [Italian Government Publications]. Vilma Alberani. Roma: Associazione Italiana Biblioteche, 1995. 91 p. 17 cm. (Enciclopedia tascabile, 7). ISBN 88-7812-029-4: Lit. 12,000 (Editrice Bibliografica, Via Vittorio Veneto 24, I-20124 Milano)

The Guida alla bibliographia internazionale is a bibliography of bibliographies and national catalogs, compiled for the Italian library school student. Theory and method of bibliography, normally included in such texts, are not covered. National bibliographies of France, Germany, Great Britain, Italy and the U.S. are included. Aside from the very general bibliographies, there is a heavy emphasis on old books, from incunabula through the 19th century. The backward-looking nature of this bibliography is further emphasized by the fact that the new electronic formats, e.g., CD-ROM, online databases, and Internet access, are omitted. Though it presents a good, solid introduction to the older bibliographies, it would hardly serve to prepare the library school student for today's library world.

The Guida alle ricerche bibliografiche is much more up-to-date. Its audience is the college student learning her way around the library. A short introduction to using the library is followed by chapters on bibliographies, on digital library resources, and finally, practical advice for using all of these resources in research. There is no index to the titles, but a handy glossary of library terms id provided.

The gap left by the omission of bibliographical theory and method in the Guida alla bibliographia internazionale, above, is filled by Rino Pensato's Corse di bibliografia, which is apparently a popular text, since it is now in its third edition since 1987. Like the aforementioned Guida, it is compiled from the author's library school lecture notes. The three chapters, "What is Bibliography", "Compiling a Bibliography," and "Using Bibliographies" are followed by an extensive literature list of books and articles on the topic (chiefly by American authors, but also including French, German and Italian ones). Unfortunately, this list stops with publication year 1990, which for a 1995 imprint is unacceptable.

Two further publications in the same series deal with reference service in the American sense. Informare in biblioteca traces the history and development of reference service in the U.S. and contrasts it with the equivalent services in Italy. The chapters on "question and answer" and communication between information seeker and information provider are very American, as is the literature list.

Carla Leonardi actually uses the English word in her title, Il reference in biblioteca. This volume is an annotated bibliography of about 600 titles- systematically grouped under theory, method, and practice-that was submitted as the author's 1994 dissertation. In addition to the English-language books and articles on this topic, this volume contains a separate twenty-page annotated chronological listing of Italian publications.

The last title in this group review, Pubblicazioni ufficiali italiane, is the latest contribution by the foremost name in Italian government publications and "gray literature," Vilma Alberani. This brief introduction begins with a definition of government publications and then goes on to survey the Italian scene, with parliamentary, judicial and executive branch publications, regional government publication, and a chapter on bibliographical control of same. A listing of bibliographies of government publications, literature on the topic, and the laws governing these publications completes this excellent overview. For a more in-depth treatment of the topic, the reader should turn to the 693-page Le fonti per lo studio dell'amministrazione pubblica italiana: guida bibliografica (1848-1992) edited by Franco Venturini (Bologna: Società Ed. "Il Mulino," 1994) (see RREO 95-4-501; RREA 1:480). [sh/hh]


Obras de referencia: repertorio bibliográfico para bibliotecas públicas [Reference works: A Bibliographic Repertory for Public Libraries]. The editors of the journal Educación y biblioteca. 1st ed. Madrid: Tilde, 1993. 185 p. 24 cm. ISBN 84-88729-00-6: Ptas. 1,800


Biblioteca básica: selección de fondos para bibliotecas públicas [The Basic Library: A Selection of Sources for Public Libraries]. Madrid: Comunidad de Madrid, Servicio de Bibliotecas y del Libro. 24 cm. ISBN 84-451-0648-1 (complete). (Servicio de Documentación y Publicaciones, Alcalá 31, E-28014 Madrid)

Vol. 1. Obras de referencia y consulta, generalidades [General Reference Works]. 1993. xiv, 281 p. ISBN 84-451-0649-X: Ptas. 500

These two works, appearing in the same year, are intended to facilitate building collections of reference sources. The first one lists only works in Spanish-in print, with prices-suitable for users of public libraries. It includes a section of relevant works for children and young adults, with brief annotations. The second work is intended primarily for the libraries affiliated with the agency in Madrid that published it, but is useful for other libraries as well. This, the first of several volumes, lists Spanish-language reference works, presumably in print, although no prices are given. Altogether there are 761 titles listed (not annotated), 567 for adults and the rest for children.

Both works are appropriate for foreign libraries which want to improve their holdings of works about Spain, although many of the entries are subject-specific, not directly relevant to Spain, or are translations. Lacking are specialized works, especially scientific ones, as well as sources about specific regions of Spain (except Madrid). [sh/mrh]

Next Section
Table of Contents

Comments, suggestions, or questions
Last update: July 31, 2000 [RD]
© 2005 Casalini libri - VAT no. IT03106600483